Issued By
West Yorkshire Trading
Standards Service

Schools Compete in Final Heat

Last night saw the Regional Final of the Young Consumer of the Year Competition. Schools from across the county have already competed in District Heats held by West Yorkshire Trading Standards Service and the successful schools met for a battle royale at the Alfred McAlpine Stadium in Huddersfield.

The schools competing at the Final were:

The teams answered questions on travel & Europe, money & finance, consumer & legal issues, food & health and safety & the environment. The subjects are designed to improve pupils’ life skills as they prepare for the world of work.

The Mayor of Kirklees, Councillor Margaret Bates, attended the Final and was impressed with the efforts of all the teams. There were many supporters present and everybody enjoyed the close and nail biting heats.

The overall winners were Garforth Community College, closely followed by Ossett School and St John Fishers Catholic High School.

Ossett School did extremely well in the first heat and came a close second to the overall winners.

All pupils involved went away with a goody bag of gifts thanks to generous sponsorship. Prizes included CDs and stationery items.

The local branch of Staples in Huddersfield turned up to support their local team and congratulated Colne Valley High School for their efforts with extra prizes.

Crofton School from Wakefield also attended the Finals to be awarded a CCL computer package for their effort and enthusiasm in the earlier stages of the Competition.

Councillor Graham Clarke, Chairman of the West Yorkshire Trading Standards Committee, said: “This Competition is an excellent way of encouraging pupils to become more aware of their rights and responsibilities in the community. Congratulations to Garforth Community College and I wish them every success at the National Finals.”
Garforth Community College will now go on to represent West Yorkshire at the National Finals in Edinburgh in June as part of the Trading Standards Institute Annual Conference.

For further information contact:

Suzanne Kenny: Education & Promotions Officer- 0113 383 6431
Graham Hebblethwaite: Media Contact- 0113 289 8218

Notes to editors:

Photographs of all teams are available and can be emailed